Tyson Chandler not on All-Defensive First Team

If you win Defensive Player of the Year, you should probably be on the All-Defensive First Team, right?


New York Knicks center Tyson Chandler, who won Defensive Player of the Year honors this season, was bumped to the Second Team. The Orlando Magic’s Dwight Howard was the center on the First Team.

Defensive Player of the Year voting was done by a media panel, while the All-Defensive Teams were chosen by the NBA’s 30 coaches, who could not vote for players on their own team.

The First Team was forwards LeBron James of Miami (24 first-place votes, 53 points) and Serge Ibaka of Oklahoma City (20, 47), Howard (16, 41) and guards Chris Paul of the Los Angeles Clippers (13, 35) and Tony Allen of Memphis (13, 33).

James, the NBA MVP, was the only player named on 29 ballots.

The Second Team was forwards Luol Deng of Chicago (6, 20) and Kevin Garnett of Boston (8, 26), Chandler (13, 36) and guards Rajon Rondo of Boston (9, 29) and Kobe Bryant (7, 17) of the Los Angeles Lakers.

Chandler actually totaled more points than two First Team members.

Garnett was listed as a forward, even though he played the final two-plus months of the season at center.

Significant snubs included Philadelphia forward Andre Iguodala, who had more points than Bryant with 19; Atlanta forward Josh Smith; Dallas forward Shawn Marion; and Boston guard Avery Bradley.

Chicago Bulls forward Carlos Boozer, who often is taken off the floor for defensive purposes, received one second-place vote.

The voting is below.


Player, Pos, Team 1st 2nd Points
LeBron James, F, Miami 24 5 53
Serge Ibaka, F, Oklahoma City 20 7 47
Dwight Howard, C, Orlando 16 9 41
Chris Paul, G, LA Clippers 13 9 35
Tony Allen, G, Memphis 13 7 33


Player, Pos, Team 1st 2nd Points
Kevin Garnett, F, Boston 8 10 26
Luol Deng, F, Chicago 6 8 20
Tyson Chandler, C, New York 13 10 36
Rajon Rondo, G Boston 9 11 29
Kobe Bryant, G, LA Lakers 7 3 17

Others receiving votes, with point totals (First Team votes in parentheses): Andre Iguodala, Philadelphia, 19 (4); Joakim Noah, Chicago, 14; Iman Shumpert, New York, 13 (4); Paul George, Indiana, 10 (2); Russell Westbrook, Oklahoma City, 9 (2); Josh Smith, Atlanta, 8 (2); Dwyane Wade, Miami, 5 (1); Thabo Sefolosha, Oklahoma City, 5 (1); Grant Hill, Phoenix, 5 (1); Tim Duncan, San Antonio, 5 (1); Avery Bradley, Boston, 3 (1); Marc Gasol, Memphis, 3 (1); Metta World Peace, L.A. Lakers, 3; Shawn Marion, Dallas, 3; Joe Johnson, Atlanta, 2, (1); Mike Conley, Memphis, 2; Derrick Rose, Chicago, 1; Jrue Holiday, Philadelphia, 1; Carlos Boozer, Chicago, 1; Luc Mbah a Moute, Milwaukee, 1.



  1. Arky says

    Wonder if the Boozer vote was brought to you by the same guy who threw a point to Josh Selby on the Rookie of the Year ballot? A kind of “vote for the worst” thing?


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>