Anthony Davis only rookie on NBA All-Star ballot; Rubio included, Lillard, Crawford, Kidd snubbed

The East also has five teams with five players: They are:

  • Boston (Rajon Rondo, Jason Terry, Kevin Garnett, Jeff Green, Paul Pierce)
  • Brooklyn (Joe Johnson, Deron Williams, Kris Humphries, Brook Lopez, Gerald Wallace)
  • Chicago (Kirk Hinrich, Carlos Boozer, Luol Deng, Taj Gibson, Joakim Noah)
  • Indiana (George Hill, Paul George, Danny Granger, Roy Hibbert, David West)
  • Miami (Ray Allen, Dwyane Wade, Shane Battier, Chris Bosh, LeBron James)

Notable omissions in the East include Brandon Bass, Ben Gordon, Jason Kidd, Jameer Nelson, Derrick Rose, Evan Turner and Dion Waiters.

In the West, New Orleans, Phoenix, Portland, Sacramento and Utah have just three players on the ballot.

The West also has five teams with five players. They are:

  • Dallas (Darren Collison, O.J. Mayo, Chris Kaman, Shawn Marion, Dirk Nowitzki)
  • Denver (Ty Lawson, Andre Miller, Kenneth Faried, Danilo Gallinari, Andre Iguodala)
  • LA Lakers (Kobe Bryant, Steve Nash, Pau Gasol, Dwight Howard, Metta World Peace)
  • Memphis (Tony Allen, Mike Conley, Marc Gasol, Rudy Gay, Zach Randolph)
  • Oklahoma City (Kevin Martin, Russell Westbrook, Kevin Durant, Serge Ibaka, Kendrick Perkins)

Notable omissions in the West include Caron Butler, Jamal Crawford and DeAndre Jordan, all members of the Los Angeles Clippers. However, Grant Hill and Chauncey Billups are on the ballot.

Other West omissions were Lillard, JaVale McGee, Isaiah Thomas and Mo Williams. A strange inclusion was Minnesota’s Ricky Rubio, who may not play until January.

For the first time, fans can vote via social media such as Facebook and Twitter. In China, fans can vote via Sina Weibo and Tencent QQ. Fans can also vote via NBA Game Time from Sprint, all of’s platforms and via SMS message.

All voting is limited to one ballot per day and ends Jan. 14. Starters will be announced Jan. 17 on TNT.

The 62nd All-Star Game concludes All-Star Weekend at the Toyota Center in Houston from Feb. 15-17, 2013. The city last hosted All-Star Weekend in 2006.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>