Tweet of the Night: LeBron James

Why are you trolling us again, LeBron?

For so many years, everyone – be it fans, experts or bloggers –  has been calling for LeBron James to enter the Slam Dunk contest, the way other superstars like Michael Jordan and Kobe Bryant did in their heyday.

The King never did.

Perhaps craving the attention that Dwight Howard and Nate Robinson was receiving at the time, James told the world back in the 2008-2009 All-Star festivities that he would “preliminary” put his name down to dunk in 2010. Of course, he backed out.

No one expects James – at the age of 28 – to enter the contest at this point. Even if he was entertaining the idea of joining the fun (for whatever reason), it’s too late. The participants for this season’s Slam Dunk contest have already been announced, from Dan Devine of Ball Don’t Lie:

As announced on TNT’s pregame show before the Boston Celtics/Los Angeles Lakers game on Thursday night, the six participants in this year’s dunk contest are:

• Utah Jazz forward Jeremy Evans, the 2012 Sprite Slam Dunk champion

• Los Angeles Clippers guard Eric Bledsoe

• Denver Nuggets forward Kenneth Faried

• Indiana Pacers forward/guard Gerald Green

• Toronto Raptors forward/guard Terrence Ross

• New York Knicks forward/guard James White

Good job, LeBron. At least for one day, you have the world rolling their eyes at you again like the good old days. Enjoy it, because there hasn’t been a whole lot of reasons to hate on you since you became a champ.

Tweet of the Night: J.R. Smith

Tweet of the Day: LeBron James 


  1. big mike says

    Said it before, will say it again and again. Lebron is a game dunker, not a contest dunker. You don’t need to be a sports analyst to know that. Doesn’t matter what he says or tweets. He can NEVER be in IT.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>