Metta World Peace declines to apologize to James Harden on Conan


“I’m retro,” the player formerly known as Ron Artest said last night in explaining his style of play. He also said he had not yet called James Harden to apologize for the elbow to the head that gave Harden a concussion, because he and Harden may yet meet again in the playoffs, and it would be a violation of competitors’ etiquette to pick up the phone right now. World Peace also declined to comment on the length of his suspension — seven


Playoffs Day 10: Spurs sweep Jazz, Clippers win in OT

chris paul

We shall begin this morning by saying goodbye to the San Antonio Spurs … for a little while. They will play again, they will most certainly be rested, and they still will have no black marks on their record since back on  April 11 when they lost to the Lakers. Since then, it’s been 14 wins in a row — the latest an 87-81 victory at Utah the eliminated the Jazz after they fought tooth and nail over the final month


Rajon Rondo has been MVP of the playoffs thus far


No word yet from the NBA on when the Most Valuable Player award will be announced, but you can pretty much assume it will be LeBron James (who did not have the ball in his hands for the final shot yesterday at Madison Square Garden, Dwyane Wade did.) But what about the playoffs? Who has been the MVP thus far? In my book, it has been Rajon Rondo despite his bumping of a referee that earned him a one-game suspension for Game 2.


Playoffs Day 6: Time for turn to the Obituaries


We shall begin today the same way my wife’s elderly uncle begins his day when he  opens the newspaper: By turning straight to the obituaries. The Knicks? Not dead. But barely on life support. The Mavs? At least most of them will have nice shiny rings when they get buried. Both were bad last night, and if you were looking to watch a compelling and entertaining basketball game you could have done better by going down to the local Y and sitting on


Serge Ibaka should have been DPOY


Tyson Chandler was awarded the NBA Defensive Player of the Year award. But  you know what, I think Serge Ibaka should have gotten it. Click on the video above to find out why, and insert your comments in this post or into the DPOY post from yesterday. CineSport’s Tara Petrolino and’s Chris Sheridan discuss this, along with the Heat vs. the Knicks, and the Grizzlies’ win over the Clippers in Game 2. //


Early-entry draft candidates announced

Anthony Davis 70

Anthony Davis, the projected No. 1 NBA Draft pick

NEW YORK — The National Basketball Association announced today that 66 players, including 49 players from U.S. colleges and 17 international players, have filed as early entry candidates for the 2012 NBA Draft. Players wishing to enter the 2012 NBA Draft were required to submit a letter to the NBA to be received no later than Sunday, April 29. Players who have applied for early entry have the right to withdraw their names from consideration


Jason Kidd wins NBA sportsmanship award


NEW YORK – Jason Kidd is a good sport, one of the nicest, most thoughtful guys in the league. Today, he is being recognized for it. The Dallas Mavericks guard was announced as the recipient of the Joe Dumars Trophy presented to the 2011-12 NBA Sportsmanship Award winner. Kidd (Southwest) was one of six divisional winners, which included Cleveland’s Antawn Jamison (Central), the Los Angeles Clippers’ Chris Paul (Pacific), Miami’s Shane Battier (Southeast), Minnesota’s Luke Ridnour (Northwest), and New York’s Jeremy Lin (Atlantic).   Kidd received


Tyson Chandler wins Defensive Player of the Year award


NEW YORK — In a close vote, Tyson Chandler edged Serge Ibaka for Defensive Player of the Year. Chandler becomes the first player in Knicks franchise history to earn the honor. Chandler received 311 points, including 45 first-place votes, from a panel of 121 sportswriters and broadcasters throughout the United States and Canada. Oklahoma City’s Serge Ibaka finished second with 294 points (41 first-place votes) and Orlando’s Dwight Howard, who had won the award each of the previous three seasons, finished third with 186 points. Players were awarded